National Leaguers cast votes to determine this season's "best of the best" in the senior circuit, and the 2010 Players Choice Award winner for National League Outstanding Player is Colorado Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez.

On Wednesday, the Major League Baseball Players Association and ESPN Radio's Scott Van Pelt revealed the winner during the third in a series of daily broadcast segments highlighting the on-field performances and community leadership of Major Leaguers.

The 2010 Players Choice Awards are being broadcast exclusively this week on ESPN Radio and are presented by Majestic Athletic and 2K Sports and benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust. The American League Outstanding Player will be announced later Wednesday afternoon during ESPN Radio's Doug Gottlieb Show. [See complete awards broadcast schedule below.]

In just his third Major League season, Gonzalez, 25, has established himself as one of the game's most promising young players. In a career-high 145 games this season, he led all National Leaguers in average (.336), hits (197), and total bases (351) and helped keep the Rockies' playoff hopes alive for most of the season. He finished second among National Leaguers in RBI (117) and slugging percentage (.598), third in runs (111) and fourth in homers (34).

Gonzalez was traded to the Rockies by the Oakland A's on Nov. 10, 2008, along with Greg Smith and Huston Street, in exchange for Matt Holliday. His performance in the 2009 postseason offered a sneak peek into the future, as he had 10 hits in 17 at-bats, and 15 total bases in 19 plate appearances. This is Gonzalez's first Players Choice Award, and he is a finalist (with Josh Hamilton/Texas Rangers and Joey Votto/Cincinnati Reds) for the 2010 Player of the Year award. Player of the Year will be announced on ESPN Radio's Mike & Mike Show (6-10 a.m.) on Friday, Oct. 29.

The Players Choice Awards annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, and the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league. Balloting for the Players Choice Awards was conducted in September under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

2010 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.

The complete list of 2010 Players Choice Awards finalists is below as well as the ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for the awards announcements.

2010 Players Choice Awards finalists (winners in bold, underlined)

American League:

Outstanding Player: Jose Bautista (Toronto), Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Josh Hamilton (Texas)
Outstanding Pitcher: Felix Hernandez (Seattle), David Price (Tampa Bay), CC Sabathia (NY Yankees)
Outstanding Rookie: Wade Davis (Tampa Bay), Neftali Feliz (Texas), Austin Jackson (Detroit)
Comeback Player: Freddy Garcia (Chicago White Sox), Vladimir Guerrero (Texas), Francisco Liriano (Minnesota)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Albert Pujols (St. Louis), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Outstanding Pitcher: Roy Halladay (Philadelphia), Ubaldo Jimenez (Colorado), Adam Wainwright (St. Louis)
Outstanding Rookie: Jaime Garcia (St. Louis), Jason Heyward (Atlanta), Buster Posey (San Francisco)
Comeback Player: R.A. Dickey (NY Mets), Tim Hudson (Atlanta), Aubrey Huff (San Francisco)

Either league:

Player of Year: Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado), Josh Hamilton (Texas), Joey Votto (Cincinnati)
Man of the Year: Torii Hunter (LA Angels of Anaheim), Brandon Inge (Detroit), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

ESPN Radio broadcast schedule for 2010 Players Choice Awards

Monday, Oct. 25 - AL/NL Comeback Players - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Tuesday, Oct. 26 - AL/NL Outstanding Rookies - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - NL Outstanding Player - Scott Van Pelt (1-4 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, Oct. 27 - AL Outstanding Player - Doug Gottlieb (4-7 p.m. ET)
Thursday, Oct. 28 - AL/NL Outstanding Pitchers - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)
Friday, Oct. 29 - Marvin Miller Man of the Year & Player of the Year - Mike & Mike (6-10 a.m. ET)