© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

03/31/08 3:53 PM ET

Facts and figures: Mets Opening Day

MIAMI -- Jose Reyes has batted leadoff on Opening Day for four straight years. No Mets player had done so in the club's first 46 years. David Wright and Carlos Beltran are the only other current Mets to start on Opening Day in four successive seasons, but they have batted in different slots.

Wright is the first Mets player to start at third base in four straight Opening Day games since Howard Johnson started in six straight from 1985-1990. Johnson started at shortstop in 1991 and center field in 1992. ... Before Beltran, not since 1982-1985, when Mookie Wilson started, had a Mets center fielder started in four straight Opening Day games.

Luis Castillo is the sixth Opening Day second baseman in six seasons -- Roberto Alomar, Ricky Gutierrez, Kaz Matsui, Anderson Hernandez and Jose Valentin preceded Castillo. ... Ryan Church is the sixth Opening Day right fielder in six years, preceded by Jeromy Burnitz, Karim Garcia, Eric Valent, Xavier Nady and Shawn Green.

Johan Santana is the 20th Opening Day starting pitcher in Mets history, and the eighth left-handed pitcher. ... Willie Randolph is the fifth Mets manager in place for four straight Opening Day games. The other four were Gil Hodges, Joe Torre, Davey Johnson and Bobby Valentine.

Marty Noble is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.