CLEVELAND -- The Tigers turned a nice fifth-inning rally Sunday into a game-changing surge and a potential series sweep of the Indians with help from a replay review, which showed Asdrubal Cabrera did not complete a forceout at second base on Miguel Cabrera's ground ball.

Back-to-back singles by Ian Kinsler and Austin Jackson put runners at the corners with nobody out for Cabrera, whose ground ball to the right side left little to no chance at a double play. Whether second baseman Jason Kipnis got Jackson at second was the play in question.

Kipnis' throw arrived in plenty of time, but shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera fumbled it. With the transfer rule relaxed earlier this season, second-base umpire Chris Conroy initially ruled Cabrera had enough control to record the out.

Kinsler threw up his arms in bewilderment at the call as he crossed home plate, and manager Brad Ausmus walked out almost immediately to set up a challenge. Replay showed that Cabrera never had control of the ball.

Thus, instead of a runner on first base and one out, Victor Martinez stepped to the plate with two on and nobody out in a 3-0 game. Michael Bourn's ensuing error on Martinez's line drive loaded the bases for J.D. Martinez, whose drive to the center-field wall drove in Jackson and Miguel Cabrera to blow the game open.

The Indians were able to break onto the scoreboard later in the frame, after a play challenged by manager Terry Francona was overturned.

With a man on and one out, Michael Bourn hit into what was initially ruled an inning-ending double play. However, it was unclear whether Kinsler's throw to first base had gotten there in time for the second out. After 39 seconds of replay review, officials determined that Bourn was safe, and the inning continued.

The Tribe plated Bourn two at-bats later on Michael Brantley's double, cutting the deficit to 9-1. Francona improved to 6-for-15 on manager's challenges this season.

The Tigers would win an additional challenge in the ninth, after Andrew Romine was initially ruled out at first base on an attempted double play. After review, Romine was ruled safe.

It was the 12th overturned call out of 21 challenged this season for Ausmus.